BJP’s Electoral Strategy in Uttar Pradesh: A Look at Candidates and Potential Hat-Tricks

5 Min Read

Spread the love

New Delhi: The Lok Sabha elections (Lok Sabha Election 2024) in Uttar Pradesh have been completed in two phases for 16 seats. The BJP is contesting elections on 75 seats in the state this time. It has left five seats for its ally parties. The party has announced candidates for 72 seats. This time, out of the 24 BJP MPs who won in 2019, either their tickets have been cut or they have refused to contest. Meanwhile, 27 MPs are in the election field to score a hat-trick. This includes Prime Minister Narendra Modi (PM Narendra Modi) and Defense Minister Rajnath Singh.

Who wants to make a hat-trick?

Among the MPs contesting the 2024 elections to score a hat-trick are Narendra Modi (Varanasi), Rajnath Singh (Lucknow), Pankaj Chaudhary (Maharajganj), Sanjeev Balyan (Muzaffarnagar), Dr. Mahesh Sharma (Gautam Buddha Nagar), Bhola Singh (Bulandshahr), Satish Kumar Gautam (Aligarh), Hema Malini (Mathura), Rajveer Singh (Etah), Dharmendra Kashyap (Aonla), Menaka Gandhi (Sultanpur), Ajay Mishra Teni (Khiri), Rekha Verma (Dhaurahra), Rajesh Verma (Sitapur), Sakshi Maharaj (Unnao), Kaushal Kishore (Mohanlal Ganj), Mukesh Rajput (Farrukhabad), Bhanupratap Singh Verma (Jalaun SC), Pushpendra Singh Chandel (Hamirpur), Niranjan Jyoti (Fatehpur), Vinod Sonkar (Kaushambi), Lallu Singh (Faizabad), Kirtivardhan Singh (Gonda), Jagdambika Pal (Dumariaganj), Harish Dwivedi (Basti), Kamlesh Paswan (Bansgaon), Ravindra Kushwaha (Salempur), and Mahendra Nath Pandey (Chandauli).

These BJP MPs have been winning from their respective seats since 2014. Prime Minister Narendra Modi has been winning from the Varanasi Lok Sabha seat since 2014. Similarly, Defense Minister Rajnath Singh has been winning from the Lucknow seat since 2014. He had won from the Ghaziabad Lok Sabha seat in 2009.

Meanwhile, some leaders are aiming to score a hat-trick for the second time in the election field. Like Union Minister Pankaj Chaudhary. He has won the Maharajganj Lok Sabha seat in 1991, 1996, and 1998. He also won from the same seat in 2004. After losing the election in 2009, he won from the Maharajganj seat in 2014 and 2019.

Double hat-trick of Menaka Gandhi

Meanwhile, BJP MP Menaka Gandhi has won the Pilibhit seat in 1996, 1998, and 1999. She won the 2004, 2009, and 2014 elections from this seat as a BJP candidate. In the 2019 elections, she was assigned the Sultanpur seat. This time, she is contesting from Sultanpur again.

Similarly, BJP MP Kamlesh Paswan has been winning from his seat since 2009. Likewise, Jagdambika Pal, BJP MP from Dumariaganj, has also been winning from there since 2009. However, he won the 2009 election from Dumariaganj on the Congress ticket. Similarly, the MP from Kaiserganj, Braj Bhushan Sharan Singh, has also been winning from there since 2009. But this year, the BJP has not yet announced his candidacy.

Where BJP candidates have not been announced

BJP has not yet announced its candidates from Rae Bareli and Gonda seats in Uttar Pradesh. Braj Bhushan Sharan Singh is the BJP MP from Gonda. There is doubt about his candidacy from there. Meanwhile, Sonia Gandhi won from Rae Bareli last time. She has been elected to the Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan. However, neither the Congress nor the BJP has announced its candidate from Rae Bareli.

Another ally of BJP, the Apna Dal (S), had contested the elections from Mirzapur and Robertsganj seats in 2019. The party’s chief, Anupriya Patel, won from Mirzapur. Meanwhile, Pakauri Lal Kol won from Robertsganj. However, the Apna Dal (S) has not yet announced its candidate’s name from Robertsganj. Therefore, there is doubt as to who will contest from there, BJP or Apna Dal (S).

Ticket cut for these BJP MPs

In the 2019 elections, BJP won on 64 out of 80 seats in Uttar Pradesh. BJP has so far only given tickets to 48 of them. Tickets of 16 BJP MPs have either been cut or they have refused to contest. BJP MPs who are not contesting elections this time include Rita Bahuguna Joshi, Veerendra Singh Mast, Keshari Devi Patel, Satyadev Pachauri, Santosh Gangwar, Varun Gandhi, Akshaywar Lal Gaud, General VK Singh, Sanghamitra Maurya, Rajvir Singh Diler from Hathras, and Rajendra Agrawal.

Share This Article
By bdma
BDMA is a news blogging website that curates blogs and news articles from around the world.